Journal Publications

(Invited Review Paper) A materials perspective on the design of damage-resilient artificial bones and bone implants through additive/advanced manufacturing

H. Le Ferrand, C.E. Athanasiou
Submitted for publication
(link to be announced)

Unraveling brittle fracture statistics out of self-healing patterns forming during femtosecond laser exposure

C.E. Athanasiou, M.Hongler, Y. Bellouard
Physical Review Applied 2017, 8, 054013.


Femtosecond laser direct-write waveplates based on stress-induced birefringence

B. McMillen, C.E. Athanasiou, Y. Bellouard
Optics Express 2016, 24, 27239-27252.

 micromachines-06-01365-agA monolithic micro-tensile tester for investigating silicon dioxide polymorphs micromechanics, fabricated and operated using a femtosecond laser

C.E. Athanasiou, Y. Bellouard
Micromachines 2015, 6, 1365-1386.



Conference Presentations with Peer-Reviewed Proceedings

Direct-write Waveplates Using Femtosecond Lasers: Confined Stress States for new Polarization Devices

B. McMillenC.E. Athanasiou, Y. Bellouard
European Conference on Lasers and ElectroOptics and the European Quantum Electronics Conference (CLEO®/Europe-EQEC)

micromachines-06-01365-g004-1024Investigation of the micro-mechanical properties of femtosecond laser-induced phases in amorphous silica

C.E. Athanasiou, Y. Bellouard
Photonics West (PW) 2016, San Francisco, US
(Link, PDF)

Capturepic A monolithic micro-tensile tester fabricated by femtosecond laser to investigate silica mechanical properties

C.E. Athanasiou, Y. Bellouard
International Conference of Optomechatronics (ISOT) 2015, Neuchatel, Switzerland


Micro-tensile tester Scanning Electron Microscope image A monolithic micro-tensile tester for investigating silica micromechanics, fabricated and fully operated using a femtosecond laser

C.E. Athanasiou, B. McMillen, Y. Bellouard
Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) 2014, San Jose, US 

(Semi-Finalist for the Maiman Student Paper Competition – approx. 30 over 1000 papers submitted)

(Link, PDF)


Thesis Publications

PhD Thesis N#8323, Christos Edouardos Athanasiou, Non-contact femtosecond laser-based methods for investigating glass mechanics at small scales, Suisse: Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), 2018.

PhD Committee Members: Prof. Y. Bellouard (Thesis Director, EPFL), Prof. D. Psaltis (Chair, EPFL), Prof. J. Vlassak (Harvard University), Prof. M. Lancry (Université Paris-Sud 11), Prof. F. Sorin (EPFL)


Web-based Publications

1. Newsletter topic: Lasers in additive manufacturing*

2. Newsletter topic: Ultrafast laser processing*

* The newsletters were distributed via e-mail to about 1000 members of the Optical Society of America’s (OSA) group dealing with Lasers in Manufacturing.